Where in San Diego, CA can I book reputable water damage restoration services

Understanding the 3 Categories of Water Damage

Water damage is dangerous in itself, but in order to assess its severity you need to know the type of contamination you’re dealing with. That’s why it’s important to understand the main categories of water damage

If you experience water damage in San Diego, CA, you should turn to water damage restoration services for professional assistance. This article will provide you with some useful tips on how to make a distinction between the 3 main categories of water damage.

What are the 3 categories of water damage?

While there are 3 categories of water damage, not all of them are equally dangerous because the source and the level of contamination vary. Here are some basic facts about water damage that every homeowner should know:

1. Category 1: Clean water 

White or clean water comes from a sanitary water source such as water supply lines, melting ice or snow, rainwater, toilet tanks and bowls without contaminants. The source can also be broken pipes, sinks and bathtubs which have overflowed and appliance issues. Since this type of water doesn’t come from sewage and is toxin-free, it’s considered “clean.” Usually all the damaged items can be dried easily and salvaged and there aren’t any side effects for the property owner.  

While most of the affected building material can be saved, there are some materials like plaster, brick and concrete which require special drying methods even if water damage is category 1. You should also be careful because category 1 water loss can deteriorate into categories 2 and 3 if the water comes into contact with microorganisms like mold which is one of the essential terms related with water damage.

2. Category 2: Gray water

Gray water originates from dishwasher or washing machine discharge or overflow, hydrostatic pressure seepage in basements, toilet bowl overflow with urine and sump pump backups. A less likely source are punctured water beds and broken aquariums.

This type of water is significantly contaminated and the waste and chemicals in it can cause discomfort or sickness if you get in touch with it. It may contain potentially unsafe levels of bacteria, viruses, nutrients for microorganisms and mold. That’s why you should remove any affected items and disinfect your home completely, and preferably use a vacuum with a HEPA filter to remove all the microorganisms.

3. Category 3: Black water

Category 3 water is grossly contaminated and comes from sewage, waste line backflows, seawater, flooding, wind-driven rain from hurricanes and tropical storms, as well as river and groundwater. Since it contains pathogenic, toxic and other harmful agents it poses a great risk to health. You should remove all affected materials such as insulation, drywall, hardwood flooring, carpets and cushions.

Since one of the reasons for water damage can be sewage backup, you should check your sewage system as soon as you notice anything unusual. Water damage insurance covers only some categories and the one caused by faulty pipes is normally not considered a valid insurance claim.

What are the 3 categories of water damage

Where in San Diego, CA can I book reputable water damage restoration services?

If you need a reliable water damage restoration service that is available 24/7, look no further than Risk Free Serv. Our dedicated experts use cutting-edge technology such as HEPA filters to make sure that your home is free from all microorganisms including mold. We also provide leak detection which helps prevent water damage from occurring and escalating.

You can go on a hike and spend some quality time with your family at Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve while our vetted pros carry out complete restoration of your home. Book today!

Share this post